Community Sustainability Advisers

Purpose of the Community Sustainability Advisory Group

The role of this group is five-fold:

  1. By creating the group, fulfill the terms of the SBA grant.
  2. These advisers will help UWEX explore the need and prospects for sustaining the broadband effort, beyond the grant.
  3. This group will assist UWEX in exploring options for additional piloting of the BCCB effort: a collaborative broadband effort that provides educational outreach and community facilitation to acquire infrastructure for community institutions;  how this would most effectively benefit Wisconsin beyond the five demonstration communities.
  4. This group will provide additional community feedback about resources being created for replication
    by other communities; what are we missing, how we might improve.  One key resource is a Guide to Creating Community Area Networks.
  5. Beyond meeting grant requirements, this group of advisers represents an additional set of stakeholders that will play an advocacy role for broadband expansion in Wisconsin.
  • Shaun Abshere, WiscNet
  • Oskar Anderson, Wisconsin Department of Health Services
  • Bob Bocher, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
  • Rovy Branon, UWEX Continuing Education
  • Barbara Fleisner, Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation
  • Jill Hietpas, Chippewa Valley CINC
  • Greg Hutchins, UW-Extension
  • Rick Stadelman, Wisconsin Towns Association
  • Denise Webb, Wisconsin Department of Health Services
  • Martha Van Pelt, Wisconsin State Library Association
  • Louis Wenzlow, Rural Wisconsin Health Cooperative
  • Ross Wilson, CESA 10